Remembrance events

Candlelight

Demelza's remembrance events are a time for parents and carers to reflect, reminisce and celebrate the life of their child, in the company of their family.

They allow families to come together with the wider Demelza community and incorporate elements such as lighting candles, placing flowers, listening to music, creating memory art as well as other seasonal elements.

Please note that these event dates are currently provisionally. You will need to register for these events and an invite will be sent to you by email or post closer with information on how to sign up. If you have any questions beforehand then please email familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk.

Register for the next event
  • South East London
    Saturday 16 March 2024
  • Kent
    Sunday 17 March 2024

  • Kent
    Saturday 13 July 2024
  • South East London
    Sunday 14 July 2024

  • Monday 14 October

An event to mark Baby Loss Awareness Week. During the event, you will have the opportunity to meet other families as well as Demelza staff and volunteers. It's also a chance for you to come together with others who have had a similar experience in a safe and supportive space.


  • South East London
    Friday 15 November
  • Kent
    Saturday 16 November

In-person cafés

Coffee Cake Flower

We are excited to introduce our new in-person cafés for 2024.

These monthly drop-in events will be held in various locations, offering a supportive space for bereaved families to connect, share and find comfort.

If you have any questions before the event you can call the family support helpline on 01795 845280 (Monday to Friday, 10am-4pm) or email us.

Drop in for a cup of tea and a chat!

When? First Tuesday of each month, 10am-12pm
Where? Margate Caves, 1 Northdown Road, Margate, CT9 1FG

  • Tuesday 5 March
  • Tuesday 2 April
  • Tuesday 7 May
  • Tuesday 4 June
  • Tuesday 2 July

You will be warmly welcomed by Sally, a Demelza volunteer, and Jennie from the family support team. We'll have refreshments, cake and some craft activities available for you while you chat.

Travel details
There is a bus stop outside the venue serviced by 'The Loop' and No. 8 bus routes. Parking is available in the public pay and display car park, Trinity Square, CT9 1QY, we'll pay for your parking ticket, just let us know on arrival. If you require a lift to the event please make a practical support referral.

Any issues on the day please call Jennie on 07719044929.


When? Second Thursday of each month, 10am-12pm
Where? Hill Farm, Demelza Kent, Rook Lane, Sittingbourne ME9 8DZ

  • Thursday 9 May
  • Thursday 20 June
  • Thursday 11 July
  • Thursday 8 August

Travel details
The new Hill Farm building at Demelza Kent is situated opposite the main entrance with plenty of parking on site.

Any issues on the day please call Jennie on 07719044929.


When? Third Monday of each month, 10am-12pm
Where? Kitchen, Demelza South East London, 5 Wensley Close, London, SE9 5AB

  • Monday 15 January
  • Monday 19 February
  • Monday 18 March
  • Monday 15 April
  • Monday 20 May
  • Monday 17 June
  • Monday 15 July

Travel details
If you've not been to Demelza South East London before, when you arrive just come to reception to let us know and we'll show you the way. Parking is limited on site but it can be found on close-by roads (we'll pay for your parking ticket, just let us know on arrival). If you require a lift to the event please make a practical support referral.

Any issues on the day please call the Demelza South East London reception on 02088 599800.

Together exploring workshops

Bereavement Support Kite

Together exploring workshops are a new series of workshops designed to support Demelza families with various challenges after bereavement.

The workshops will aim to offer practical guidance and a compassionate community and will address topics such as grief, returning to employment after loss and more.

You will be sent more information as we add more workshops to the programme via the In Touch Newsletter (email). If you have any questions then please email familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk

Register your interest

When? A programme of workshops beginning in February 2024. Each workshop will take place between 10am and 12pm.
Where? 
Demelza Kent, Hill Farm site, Rook Lane, Sittingbourne, ME9 8DZ

  • Week 1 - Thursday 22 February:
    Saying hello – welcome to the group

  • Week 2 - Thursday 29 February:
    My journey since my loss

  • Week 3 - Thursday 7 March:
    Remembering

  • Week 4 - Thursday 14 March:
    Who am I now?

  • Week 5 - Thursday 21 March:
    Who is there for me?

  • Week 6 - Thursday 28 March:
    Staying connected – making memories, meaning and memorials

This workshop series has now finished but if you are interested in coming along to future sessions please email familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk.


The next programme of workshops will focus on returning to or finding work after you have experienced bereavement. They are aimed at parents and carers who experienced the loss of a child over six months ago.

The programme of workshops will take place over a six week period at the Demelza South East London site and dates are yet to be confirmed. We will share more information in the In Touch Newsletter once these are available but you can register your interest now.

Demelza Choir

Screenshot 2023 12 19 At 10.43.42

Demelza Choir sessions are fun and inclusive with a wellbeing focus that allows us all to come together and share our voices.

Our choir facilitator is music therapist, Kelly Fraser, who joined Demelza in November 2022. Kelly has extensive experience running choirs in different settings.

Each session includes a mindful vocal warm-up, singing a couple of songs together and a chance to chat with one another over snacks! You don't have to attend every session, but we encourage you to join us when you can.

The sessions take place at Demelza Kent and Demelza South East London but all adult family members are invited to take part.

When? Every other Wednesday, 5-6.30pm
Where?
Large Meeting Room, Demelza Kent, Rook Lane, Sittingbourne, ME9 8DZ

  • Wednesday 24 April
  • Wednesday 1 May
  • Wednesday 15 May
  • Wednesday 22 May
  • Wednesday 12 June
  • Wednesday 26 June
  • Wednesday 10 July
  • Wednesday 24 July

When? Wednesdays, 5-6.30pm
Where?
Training Room, Demelza South East London, 5 Wensley Close, London SE9 5AB

  • Wednesday 13 March | Pilot session - sign up now!
  • Wednesday 5 June 
  • Wednesday 19 June
  • Wednesday 3 July

Accessibility/special requirements
The session will take place upstairs in a large open room (known as the training room) at Demelza South East. This room is accessible by stairs or a lift (subject to working order) so please bear this in mind and let us know any special requirements you may need to assist you or your family.

Parking
Parking is available in the car park outside Demelza South East London (after 4.30pm) or in the underground car park (just press the buzzer). Someone will be available in reception to guide you if you're not sure. If there isn't any available parking onsite then there is plenty of parking available on surrounding roads, North Park and Court Yard, and we'll pay for your parking ticket (just let us know on arrival). If you require a lift to the event please make a practical support referral.

Support groups

White cut out butterflies with remembrance messages written on them.

Join us to meet other grandparents or dads for a chat over a cup of tea or coffee at Demelza Kent.

Our support groups for bereaved family members are available for those struggling with their grief and to share experiences with those who have also experienced the loss of a beloved child/grandchild. 

If you would like any further information, or would like to speak to someone about the group, prior to attending, please email
familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk.

This group usually runs one Saturday a month but is currently paused whilst we restructure our programme of events and activities.

If you have any questions please contact Dave Turner by emailing dave.turner@demelza.org.uk.


When? Last Wednesday of each month, 10am-12pm
Where? 
Demelza Kent, Rook Lane, Sittingbourne, ME9 8DZ

  • Wednesday 28 February | Hand massage 🖐️
  • Wednesday 27 March | Coffee morning ☕
  • Wednesday 24 April | Screening of The Great Escaper (2023) film in the cinema room 🎥
  • Wednesday 29 May | Trip to Coolings Garden Centre, Rushmore Hill, Knockholt, Sevenoaks TN14 7NN

If you have any questions about these groups please contact Cathy Gundry by calling 07719067329 or emailing cathy.gundry@demelza.org.uk.

Online sessions

Compare Fibre Frgotjfqahm Unsplash

Join Jo, Psychotherapeutic Services Lead, for our online sessions. 

The sessions are a relaxed environment where people come together to chat, to share memories, to laugh, to cry, to seek support and guidance. However you are feeling, you will be welcomed.

We run both café catch-up sessions which you can join to seek support and creative sharing groups which are an opportunity to work together, collaboratively, on a piece of writing/project which may be shared beyond the group e.g. poems, needlecraft, music, blogs. These sessions aim to bring relaxation, wellbeing and a mindful focus. It is also ok to come along and listen to others, choosing not to share.

If you would like any further information, or would like to speak to someone about the group, prior to attending, please email
familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk.

When? Every other Monday, 1-2pm
Where?
Microsoft Teams

  • Monday 15 January
  • Monday 29 January
  • Monday 12 February
  • Monday 26 February
  • Monday 11 March
  • Monday 25 March
  • Monday 8 April
  • Monday 22 April
  • Monday 6 May
  • Monday 20 May
  • Monday 3 June
  • Monday 17 June
  • Monday 1 July
  • Monday 15 July
  • Monday 29 July

Join the session
Meeting ID: 386 634 402 081
Passcode: hv9zjy


When? Every other Wednesday, 6-7pm
Where?
Microsoft Teams

  • Wednesday 17 January
  • Wednesday 31 January
  • Wednesday 14 February
  • Wednesday 28 February
  • Wednesday 13 March
  • Wednesday 27 March
  • Wednesday 10 April
  • Wednesday 24 April
  • Wednesday 8 May
  • Wednesday 22 May
  • Wednesday 5 June
  • Wednesday 19 June
  • Wednesday 3 July
  • Wednesday 17 July
  • Wednesday 31 July

Join the session
Meeting ID: 312 372 258 369
Passcode: wBhAoZ


This group usually runs every other Wednesday but is currently paused whilst we restructure how we run our creative projects.

If you have any questions or ideas please contact familysupportdepartment@demelza.org.uk.